FA Charter Standard

Horsham Tigers FC was awarded the FA Charter Standard in 2007. The club intends to use the momentum created by the award of Charter Status to attract additional players in school years 2, 3, 4 and 5, in order to lay the foundation for Horsham Tigers FC teams in future seasons.

What is the FA Charter

The FA Charter Standard programme is a kitemark, which recognises and rewards high quality levels of provision in club football. The kitemark is awarded to clubs that are well run, sustainable, which place child protection, quality coaching and safety as paramount.

There are three levels of The FA Charter Standard Awards for clubs to recognise the different standards.

  • FA Charter Standard Club
  • FA Charter Standard Development Club
  • FA Charter Standard Community Club

Each advanced level requires additional criteria to be met. Any club can apply for FA Charter Standard status, even a one-team club. Once awarded, FA Charter Standard clubs are given an Annual Health Check to ensure the standards of provision are maintained.


The FA Charter Standard Clubs programme, supported by FA Community Partner McDonald's, was launched in February 2001 and is a core component of The FA Football Development programme.

The project is aimed at all clubs outside the Football League and Premier League, players, children and parents find a club in their local area that meets FA standards.


The FA, in conjunction with various bodies, has drawn up the following set of criteria for clubs wishing to reach Charter Standard:

  • A written constitution
  • FA CRB checked volunteers
  • All managers to have minimum of FA Level 1 Coaching Course
  • Commitment to attend in-service training
  • Acceptance and promotion of Codes of Conduct
  • Commitment to provide Mini-Soccer opportunities for Under 10s
  • Commitment to promote schools liaison and equal opportunities for all

To find out more about the Charter Standard please visit the FA website.